Light through the leaves

February went by in a blur of stress and work. Granted, it was a short month, and an eventful one, but I still don’t know how it managed to slip past me. I feel like I have a better handle on March, though.

So far.

Maybe.

Loving:

Anya’s growing emotional maturity. She negotiated an early end to her tablet restriction, and for the most part has kept her end of the bargain. More listening, more cooperation, more pleasant interactions. Fewer tantrums and pouts and blatant disregard for the rules. I know we are not completely out of the woods, but I see light through the leaves.

Kai’s independence is growing by leaps and bounds, and along with it his curiosity. When I set him down at the park last week, he looked at me like I’d lost my mind. By the end of the day, however, he was running away from me and climbing whatever he could reach. Now he’s systematically going through our house, my parents’ house, and everywhere else we go, testing all of the cabinets and drawers. His sister didn’t do that; all of the baby proofing we did was unnecessary. I’m glad we left the gear up anyway.

Reading:

Still work. We wrapped the current issue of the magazine I edit last week, though, so things might eventually quiet down. I did enjoy this blog article on busyness, shared with me by one of my fellow Bootcampers. I’m not sure if signing up for more email and more social media is the key to dealing with with my current overwhelming schedule, but the article itself has given me food for thought.

Watching:

11.22.63. Good stuff. (Of course – it’s Stephen King writing about the 60s, after all!) And Josh Duhamel now has my respect and admiration as an actor – he does charming evil frighteningly well.

Listening to:

Various songs from the Home soundtrack. My kids jam adorably to them. And unlike most pop music, they don’t make me want to snip the speaker cables.

Working on:

Work. Though I’m hoping to get back to my own stuff soon. I just haven’t had the leftover brain power for it lately.

Anticipating:

Gearing up for next weekend; I’ve taken the 17th and 18th off so we can celebrate Kai’s first birthday (and R’s 31st).

Making me happy:

Warmer temperatures and bright sunshine. I loved the March snow last year, don’t get me wrong. But this year I am craving spring.

Leave a comment