Because some things you can’t buy

The other day I mentioned these cookies.

img_20170212_141342_875
Those are arrows. I swear.

I have this long, heartfelt post I want to write about these cookies, but I am wrangling a 40-page engineering manuscript. So here’s the Cliffs Notes version:

My grandma used to bake these amazing heart-shaped frosted sugar cookies for Valentine’s Day. She also used to bake shamrock-shaped ones for St. Patty’s, though of course the frosting on those was green instead of pink. These cookies were simply divine: Fluffy and soft, with a delicate almond flavor. I don’t have many warm fuzzies about my grandma, as I think I’ve mentioned, but I did love those cookies. All the more because she wasn’t really a cookie-baking grandma.

I miss those cookies. Haven’t had them in several decades. And it hit me the other day, apropos of nothing, that I will never have her cookies again, not ever.

My mom also bakes amazing sugar cookies, though hers are thinner than Gran’s were. She tends to only bake them around Christmas, though. And with her RA, she doesn’t often feel well enough to bake these days. My kids could grow up thinking sugar cookies are supposed to taste like those things at the grocery store, the ones made from white cake mix.

That just can’t be.

So I decided to learn how to make them. There was some trial and error; the first batch came out as underdone misshapen Frankencookies, and my frosting skills still leave a bit to be desired. However, even bad cookies are still cookies. And practice makes perfect.

Which means there will also be St. Patty’s shamrock cookies, of course.

Leave a Reply

