Radiate love

This month, my focus is love. Love for my family. Love for myself. Love for my fellow humans. I’m not ceasing my job hunt, but I am setting my sights a little closer to home for a few weeks. Because what I’m doing isn’t working, obvs. Time to shift my approach.

Goals

Work. The shotgun approach to job applications hasn’t panned out for me. Time to dial it back a bit. For this month, I’m going to try an experiment. I am only going to apply for jobs that meet these criteria:

  1. I am 100% positive they allow remote work, because they say “remote workers allowed” in the posting
  2. I am at least 90% qualified to do the job
  3. I am passionate about the job.

I enjoy academic editing. I’m good at medical and scientific editing. But I am passionate about editing the lifestyle magazine I work on — I would pay to read it, instead of the other way around. I am deeply interested in arts and crafts, productivity and goal setting, childhood education, and self-improvement. I am an avid reader. A novice kitchen gardener. A wannabe foodie. A technology junkie. A not-so-limber yogini. A geek. I have a burgeoning interest in history, particularly genealogy and family research.

I’m not so much interested in finance, math, insurance. Unfortunately, those are the main jobs I’m seeing these days.

Maybe it’s time to play to my strengths. Instead of applying to every editing gig I’m remotely qualified for, perhaps I should only apply to those I really want. Who knows — perhaps this dry spell has been a blessing in disguise.

Health. This month, I’m looking to perfect my morning routine and start cooking more healthy dinners at home. I’m off to a somewhat rocky start on both, but I have hope that I’ll be doing much better by month’s end. I think I hit upon the crux of the matter in a recent PC post: I know I keep failing, but at least I keep trying.

Organization. I am pleased with my progress so far. My holiday decorations are sorted. My linen closet is neat and tidy. My closet and stored clothes are still works in progress, but I’m heading in the right direction. My office is neat and orderly. Anya’s room is…not awful.

I’m not finished, but I’m seeing light at the end of the clutter. I may not, in fact, die smothered under a stack of crap.

Creativity. I have started doodling with my new colored pencils. And I’m planning more craft projects with the kids. The more I create, the better I feel about…everything.

Fun. I’m thinking of starting a random acts of kindness to-do list. I read an article about a mom who left a diaper changing emergency kit in a family restroom. That’s the kind of thing I want to do. Because what parent hasn’t been ill prepared for a blowout? Not this one, certainly. It’s all well and good to buy the person behind you a cup of coffee, but it’s pretty much assured that everyone in line at Starbucks has the money to buy their cuppa. Not every parent at the changing table has everything they need. And a caffeine headache pales in comparison to a newborn’s poosplosion.

 

Leave a Reply

