Somewhere, under all this dust, is me

I cleaned my office yesterday.

20170119_112445

And then spent the time after the kids went to sleep researching storage options, so I totally forgot to write a blog post.

I love organizing. Which is good, because around here I have to do it a lot. The whole KonMari thing sounds great in theory, and I actually did it once before it was even called that (yes, I am an organizational hipster — I KMed before it was cool), but right now I am living in the intersection of several different realities and KM doesn’t really work for my stuff. A few examples:

  • I am 5-10 lbs heavier than normal because I am breastfeeding.
  • Regardless of whether or not the weight leaves me when Kai weans, I am breastfeeding.
  • I telecommute, but occasionally have need of business attire for interviews, meetings, etc.
  • My life mostly calls for sneakers and flats, but I am not ready to give up my heels; I might go out on a date again someday.
  • I freelance, but I may eventually be a FT employee again.
  • I am an editor, but have not abandoned my former hats of writer, indexer, graphic designer, and page designer. I am still toying with the idea of a career change.
  • I have vast and varied craft interests. I’d have more clutter from this if I hadn’t tossed everything that smelled like cigarette smoke.
  • I am a voracious reader who presently has precious little free time.
  • I have an entire box of home decor items I’ve tucked away because I have small children.

My life is in flux, and I’m trying to cover my bases so that when it changes — which could be tomorrow, next week, next year, or three years from now — I am prepared.

And at times, I feel like I’m a fool for doing so. Live in the now, dude.

No, I can’t really say that my raggy pregnancy underwear spark joy. But nor do I feel like going out and buying a bunch of new underwear when my weight keeps changing. This is a fitting metaphor for my relationship with my stuff right now. Am I reading books these days? No. But nor am I ready to just say “I will never read again” and throw them all out.

So I periodically pull everything out, weed out what isn’t actively used, dust under and behind what’s left, and put everything back. I am refining my possessions more than purging them. And at the same time, I am honing in on my priorities and goals. I will probably never see the pristine organization I lived in while single so long as I share my house with my minions, but at least I’m getting a better handle on what’s important to me.

img_20170117_090450_729

They definitely spark joy.

 

Leave a Reply

