Status update

As I’ve said before, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately. About me, my life, and where I’m going from here. This week will be a navel-gazing kind of week, as I get all those thoughts down in writing and out of my head. I learned a long time ago that the best way to move on is to write it all down; it clears your thoughts, so you can move on to the next stage.

I’m ready to move on to the next stage.

I very much feel that this year marks a turning point in my life. Whatever happens from here on out, it’s going to be different from all that went before. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing. In many ways, it’s a blessing.

Loving:

Kai is working so very hard to brush his teeth. He loves to follow along with Anya’s Brushyball, even though he doesn’t have half the teeth he’s being told to brush. Afterwards, he makes spitting noises at the sink (he’s still too little for toothpaste) and wipes his mouth on a towel. The details in his imitative gestures are amazingly accurate, and infinitely precious.

Reading:

Feminism is not a scary word. Love, love, love this post. Everyone with genitalia should read it.

Watching:

Mah shows are coming back on! I never thought I would say it, but I have missed my TV. And I am super encouraged that the season premiere of Bones addressed an issue that has bugged me ever since they first aired it (and there’s only so much of my “Wait…what?” I can chalk up to binge watching and multitasking). (Yes, I am one of those people: I almost never give shows my full attention; I am usually doing at least one other thing while they’re on. It’s not like they’re intellectually challenging, y’know?)

I also have some new shows I’m wanting to watch: Travelers, The Magicians. I’ll get to them eventually.

Listening to:

I caught Anya singing along to Matt Nathanson the other day. So for all her complaints, she likes him too. Just not as much as she likes Kesha.

Working on:

This week? Me. Implementing my yearly battle plan. Doing yoga. Cleaning. Trying to work up the motivation to eat a piece of fruit.

Anticipating:

I don’t know if it will be the January celebration, but Anya and I are planning on celebrating Chinese New Year.

Making me happy:

I had to stop Anya from taking one of her dollars to school. She wanted to give it to her teacher. I told her that it was a sweet idea, but not really an accepted practice. This is the girl that threw a hissy fit when I gave a few dollars to a homeless man last year. She is at least coming around to the idea that giving money to others is a nice thing to do. Now we just need to talk about the who and the when.

Leave a Reply

