NaNoWri…no

Didn’t make it this year. But I am halfway there, and the story is still flowing. I just have sick kids and bills to pay and a major holiday looming ever closer. And a sinus infection. And insurance plans to sort through.

Life. Don’t talk to me about life.

NaNoWriMo assures me that if I keep up my (currently glacial) pace, I will finish my book by the end of the year. So I have not abandoned hope. Or this book. It will be written. Possibly even this year. Just not in the month of November, because November is gone.

And on that note…on to December! I’m trying to sort out things in my head, because I am thinking both of December goals and of New Year’s resolutions. Next year is special, because it’s the year I turn 43. I am sincerely hoping that 43 will go more smoothly than 42 has gone. Also, at some point next year R and I will get married. If I can ever get around to planning and paying for a wedding, we might even have one of those. So anyway, next year’s gonna be big. And I have some ideas of how I can improve it that are a departure from my usual trainwrecky “do ALL the things on 4 hours of sleep” approach. But one thing at a time here.

The theme of December’s bootcamp is Comfort and Joy.

December’s goals

Celebrate.
We have our usual traditions: Starry Nights, Zoo Lights, driving past White Oak farm to see their annual light display, baking cookies, making and sending Christmas cards, pictures with Santa, and Advent treats. This year I am hoping to add the Christmas parade, Snowy Nights, a stop by Ghirardelli’s or Whimsy Cookie Company, making homemade ornaments and other Christmas crafts, and more snuggling under a Christmas blankie watching Christmas movies. In other words, I’m trying to make Christmas more about doing and less about things. Things are great, but we’re overrun with them. And broke. We don’t need things. We need fun and memories.

I’m spreading these activities out (we’ve already started, by going to Zoo Lights the day after Thanksgiving), and also including plenty of at-home stuff in case of illness, to stave off my own frustration. Because nobody is happy when Mommy is unhappy.

Meditate.
I have really been backsliding on the self care. Exercise is hard to come by in December, though; not much room to do yoga in the decorated living room, too cold to go walking when you’re sick (and I usually am). But I can meditate. And calm would seriously improve my comfort and joy. So for the month of December, I will meditate for 5 minutes a day, minimum. Every day. No excuses.

Write.
I would like to reach 50k words on my novel by December 31.

Eat better.
I have been backsliding (already!) into the “snack all day” rut I return to when I am stressed. The holidays really make that easy, too, because we have all of these yummy snacks at hand. I must remind myself, though, that cheese and crackers are not dinner. Cook healthy food. Eat healthy food. Don’t skimp on the plants. Repeat.

Review, evaluate, and plan.
I have a lot of cleanup to do for the coming year. I need to settle on an insurance plan. I need to clean out my files and take recycling. I need to sort the kids’ toys before Santa brings them a whole sack of new ones. I need to decide what my goals are for next year, and start planning how to achieve them. I need to get a handle on my finances so I know how much money we actually need to survive so I know how fall short we’re falling.

That’s enough for one month, I think.

Leave a Reply

