Goal updates

I’ve been posting goal updates in two places for a while now: here and PopClogs. And I’m thinking I would like to consolidate the posts somewhat, both to focus my efforts and to make it easier for me to write updates on something of a regular basis. I haven’t completely worked out how I will handle these yet, but here is my list for November:

  • Make time, take time: For the kids, for R, for myself. Cook. Eat. Play. Snuggle.
  • NaNoWriMo or bust: I have been kicking this novel around for 20 years. Time to write it.
  • Embrace whatever comes: Including the illnesses my kids keep dragging home.
  • Give back: Donate. Volunteer. Recycle. Do what I can to make the world a little better.
  • Create an uplifting, fulfilling morning routine: Start as you mean to go on.

I would like to designate a day (Fridays, perhaps) for writing a quick update on my current goals. Not only would this keep me accountable, but it would also give me an easier way to track progress across months, as I close out each monthly goal list when I open the next month’s goal.

I know November’s half gone now, but I thought I’d start this anyway. The holidays are crazy-making, and I will likely fall down in posting again in December, NaNo or no. But I don’t want to lose sight of my overarching goals; otherwise, I’ll fall back into the eat/sleep/work rut that I am trying desperately to claw my way out of. That’s not how I want to live anymore. So without further ado, here’s this week’s list.

November’s goals

Make time, take time: With the kids being sick, we’ve had more hygge than usual lately. It’s cold, and they’re cuddly, and we’ve just been sitting around under a blanket watching movies. I’ve also been cooking more — warm, carb-heavy dishes with creamy sauces, oatmeal cookies, and other yummies for their tummies. (And mine!)

NaNoWriMo or bust: I haven’t made much progress since they got sick, but I am working through key scenes in my head.

Embrace whatever comes: Sure, I’m bummed that we are missing primo fall weather to these illnesses. But I’m trying not to get pissy about it. I can’t keep them from getting sick, but I can do what I can to reduce the unpleasantness of those illnesses. (Admittedly, I’m still struggling with that a bit. But I’m definitely dealing with my plans being derailed better than I did last year.)

Give back: I’m finally — finally! — starting work on my One Community contribution. I’m really excited to be using my powers for good, so to speak.

Create an uplifting, fulfilling morning routine: Okay, so I was doing better about this a couple of weeks ago. But I’m trying to find a balance between what I have to do and what I want to do, so everything gets done without turning me into a total stressball. I’m putting on makeup and jewelry and nonfrumpy clothes (well, as best I can) each day, even if I’m just going to be cleaning the house. I’ve added outfit selection and lunch packing to our bedtime routine and bumped the whole process back an hour; as a result, getting Anya off to school has been much less like to, as Jayne would say, “damage my calm.” I’m making a point to eat a healthy breakfast before I am ravenously hungry. I’ve been tapering my caffeine consumption (when possible; sleepless nights happen) to improve my sleep/wake cycles. I’ve been carving out at least an hour for blogging and writing and simply getting my ducks in a row. Now if I could just work in some exercise and meditation, I’d be off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

