The march of progress

Speaking of cleaning out stuff I don’t use…I’m finally getting rid of some of my reference books. I’m hanging on to some of my pattern books for inspiration (well, they survived this last pass, anyway), but the design books are going. If I need graphic design inspiration or tutorials, I go to the internet — not a book. (Besides, the books are so old that the design trends used in them are out of style. It’s a recurring theme around here.) Ditto cookbooks; I never consult them anyway. Why store them?

Which got me to thinking. Much of my stuff is analog. Books, CDs, things like that. But I do almost everything electronically these days. Now, there are books that simply will not leave my possession; they are my talismans, my heirlooms, and you will take them from my cold, dead fingers. But other books are no longer safe. As for new books? I can’t tell you the last time I bought a physical book, but my Kindle library is growing.

The CDs may also be on the endangered list. I don’t even listen to them anymore. I don’t know that I have used the CD player since Kai was born, and I listen to Spotify in the car and in my office. Besides, my entire music collection is from 20 years ago. I don’t mind revisiting the angst from time to time, but I don’t want a steady diet of it.

DVDs do still get played around here, because the internet is not 100% reliable. But I am much more likely to buy new titles on Amazon Instant than pick up a fragile disk that my kids can destroy while I am in the bathroom.

I simply don’t need all of these physical things anymore. They’re part of my old life. They take up space, and collect dust, and just generally get in my way. My life now is pretty much all in my phone. It fits in my pocket.

Which is good, because I need the space I’m freeing up to store all the kids’ crap.

Leave a Reply

