Bring on October!

Last week was kind of a wash. Anya’s illness continues; after submitting a couple of stool samples, she was diagnosed with C. difficile. At least now we have an antibiotic for her; hopefully she will be back to her old self soon. I’ve missed my spunky, silly angel. For my part, I developed a sinus…something. Not sure if it’s a mild cold or a massive allergic reaction, but it picked a lousy time either way. Kai and Daddy felt reasonably well, at least. In fact, Kai’s 18-month checkup was pretty much the highlight of the week.

The low point: An old friend of mine, who like me is an only child, lost his father. I attended the funeral; I liked his father tremendously, and miss the days when we would hang out with his parents until all hours, talking and laughing. Not the best note on which to end the month.

Loving:

The weather is a little cooler, and the leaves are starting to turn. It’s not full-on autumn, but we’re getting there. I can’t wait!

Reading:

Recipes, mostly. For someone with no appetite, I’m sure planning a lot of cooking this month. Just as soon as I get well, that is.

Watching:

The fall season is starting, and I’m jumping back in to my shows. I have to admit, though, the one I’m most excited about thus far is This Is Us. I’m not crazy about the overly dramatic cliffhangers at the end of each episode, but with any luck they’ll realize soon how annoying those are and stop it.

Listening to:

I realized the other day that my son loves Matt Nathanson. As of late, he’s really been on a Matt kick. He has started signing “all done” when I listen to anything else. And he boogies when I put on his favorite songs. (He especially likes “Gone.”) So I have been obliging him.

Working on:

Getting everyone well, and keeping the plates spinning. That’s about all I have had time for.

Anticipating:

I’ve signed on to a cool volunteer project: One Community. I’m quite excited about the work they do, and can’t wait to get started on it.

Making me happy:

Everything about October.

Leave a Reply

