Opinions are like…

I see all these people passionately discussing of-the-moment topics on Twitter and Facebook and think, “Sure, I used to have opinions, but then I had kids.” But that’s a lie. I didn’t have opinions about trending topics before I had kids, and I’m not sure why I feel I should now. Truth is, I have always been content to be doing my thing off in a corner somewhere, adjacent to but not quite in the world. Why stop now?

Loving:

Anya is in Super Helpful mode. I know it’s because she is trying to earn treats, but I’ll take it. Without prompting, she cleaned out the fridge — even wiped down the shelves. When she was finished, she told me, “Now you never have to do this all on your own.” Love, love, love this girl.

Reading:

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. Dare I confess — I am already fantastically sick of this book. Most kid lit I can handle, but I am tired of these bratty letters and their antics. However, Anya adores it, so I suffer in silence.

Watching:

Nothing much at the moment. I ponied up for another season of Good Eats, so we’re watching that. Food. AB with 80s hair. Ma Mae. Good times.

Listening to:

I need some new tunes, but everything I listen to lately annoys me. I’m starting to think maybe I am just crabby.

Working on:

I finally launched Anya’s Etsy shop. But then my freelancing queue exploded, and Anya’s crud turned into a sinus infection (with vomiting and diarrhea, for added fun!), so we didn’t get the chance to make anything new.

Anticipating:

If we can all get well by then, Munford Celebrate is coming up. That’s always fun.

Making me happy:

The Calm app’s Deep Sleep meditation. I’ve been listening to the 20-minute meditation each night after Anya goes to sleep. I never make it all the way through; in fact, I usually nod out after a minute or two. And I sleep so, so soundly. I cannot recommend this app highly enough.

Leave a Reply

