Video games are the new gym

Several years ago, R upped my fitness game by buying me a Wii. Using Wii Fit, I got in the best shape of my life. And then I sprained my ankle (not working out — just being my normal, klutzy self), and a few months later I got pregnant, and fitness went out the window.

This month, I’ve started playing Pokemon with R and Anya. We play almost every night R doesn’t work. And it’s really helped my walking goals — I haven’t gotten fewer than 5,000 steps a day since I installed the game. With a little luck, I’ll get back up to 10,000 steps a day before it gets too cold and rainy to play.

You can keep your spandex and free weights. I’ll get my workout catching animated characters at my local park.

Loving:

Anya and the chore chart are still going strong. She looks for ways to help now. It’s such a refreshing change of pace from the toddler tantrums. Which is good, because Kai is picking up her slack there.

Reading:

I won’t lie. I haven’t even picked up a book, except for children’s books, since last Monday. Work, and job ads, is all I’ve read this past week.

Watching:

I’ve been crazy busy as of late, and as such haven’t really had much watching time. But I do sneak in an episode or two of Veronica Mars when I can.

Listening to:

This week’s earworm is Amnesia, by Virgil. Ah, the angst. How I don’t miss it.

Working on:

I’ve had a bit more work than usual this past week. May this be the start of an upward trend!

Anticipating:

This week is starting off sad; tomorrow we bury my great-aunt. But we will also get to see family, which is nice. And when we return, Anya will start school full time and turn 5! It’s gonna be a full week.

Making me happy:

It’s not been quite as hot lately. It’s still hot –don’t get me wrong. But not face-meltingly hot. Fall isn’t here yet, but she’s whispering to us.

Leave a Reply

