Funkytown

“Happiness is a place between too much and too little.”

– Finnish proverb

I’m in a funk.

I signed up for health insurance yesterday. Realizing just how little insurance I can afford has really driven home how big a hit my finances are taking with this layoff. I basically don’t have insurance at all.

I signed a new freelancing contract yesterday. A good one, this time. One that should help me at least make ends meet. But no more than that. No birthdays. No Christmas. No wedding. No new house. No new car. Survival. That’s all I can afford.

It would appear that my self-worth is inextricably bound to my ability to provide for myself and my family. And right now I’m not doing so hot at the providing.

I’ve been around long enough to know that this funk won’t last. In a few days, I’ll feel better about things. And who knows – I may get another new client. Or even a new job. This won’t be forever. Nothing is forever.

But right now, in this moment, I am in a funk.

3 thoughts on “Funkytown

  1. I know you’re not a huggy type, and anyone in a funk generally does not want a hug right now – even a virtual one. So I’m just acknowledging and empathising and hoping that better things are just around the corner

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a funky day for myself too. So hard to make ends meet, but then you realize that it could all be gone in an instant for anyone. I hope your funk lifted and your day turned around! peace to you friend

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

