The wisdom of children

The other night, Anya and I were snuggled up together in bed, watching Good Eats with the lights off. Kai was asleep between us, and she was nearly asleep herself. I was holding her hand, gently shushing everything she said because I knew the minute she stopped talking she’d go to sleep.

Then she came at me out of left field.

Anya, stroking my hand: Why you cry the other day?

Me: Because I’m scared.

Anya: Because you don’t have a job?

Me: Yeah. I am worried that I won’t be able to take care of you and Kai.

Anya: But Mommy, you be okay. You just think about that good job you want, and you will get it. It be okay. You see.

I smiled at her. She stopped stroking my hand and squeezed it.

Anya: So you no more cry no more! You cry, make me cry. I no want to cry. So be happy!

This last bit was an order. I’ve been doing my best to comply with it.

Loving:

Short work days. It’s nice to not have to shove all my personal tasks to the weekends.

Reading:

I finished Ove! Granted, it’s because Kai had a couple of sleepless nights and then I was sick in bed for days, but still…I am reading again! Now I am back on In the Shadow of Blackbirds, which I started over a year ago.

Watching:

Limitless. I got caught up on Wayward Pines. Not sure I am sticking with it; it’s not as good this season.

Listening to:

Nothing new last week. Must fix that.

Working on:

The house. Slowly but surely, I am cleaning this heap. (Though I am taking a break until my sinus infection abates.)

Anticipating:

Anya’s first day of school. Though I would be lying if I said there isn’t also a fair amount of dread involved.

Making me happy:

My snuggly, cuddly, wise little woman-child.

Leave a Reply

