The new normal

When I started working from home, going from a full-time job to a part-time job plus freelancing, I experienced a paradigm shift. Life went from 45 to 33 (that’s a vinyl reference, kids), and I found my own record skipping a bit until I adapted. Then things gradually sped up again…until last week. Now I’m thudding and skipping again, both feeling that I am wasting time and also feeling that time is dragging. I’m doing okay, but it’s going to take a little while for me to adjust to this new normal.

Loving:

Free time in the mornings. Last Thursday we went to the splash park at 10 am. Know who’s there at 10 am? Hardly anybody. It was bloody fantastic.

Reading:

I keep making promises to Ove that I can’t keep. Maybe this week?

Watching:

I am still working on Wayward Pines. I haven’t decided how I feel about it yet. I almost wish it weren’t about…well, what it’s about. (Not wanting to spoiler it for anyone.) But I still can’t put it aside.

Listening to:

Kidz Bop. Lots and lots of Kidz Bop. It’s becoming less painful. Which I am taking to mean I’ve lost some precious brain cells.

Working on:

I’m trying to patch together some freelancing. Yes, I know that if I exceed the amount unemployment pays me that they’ll stop paying me. But if I can gather together a handful of decent-paying gigs, I could perhaps make enough to live on – which is more than I can say for unemployment.

Anticipating:

I am both anticipating and dreading Anya’s school days. I love the idea of school shopping, and sending her to school, and having her make new friends and learn new things. I am, however, also deeply in mourning; my baby girl is no longer a baby, and in less than a month will be somewhere else during the day. I’m not ready for that.

Making me happy:

Being able to turn off my alarm and go back to sleep in the morning.

One thought on “The new normal

Leave a Reply

