The problem with adaptability

For most of my life, I’ve been like Dante Hicks, crapping his pants because the toilet lid is down: “I’m not the type of person who will disrupt things just so I can shit comfortably.” Not literally, mind you, but in spirit this is who I’ve been.

And it’s stupid. There, I said it.

Yeah, I’m adaptable. Usually agreeable. And just don’t much mind things that make other people crazy. When my coworkers were fighting over the thermostat, I brought in a sweater and a fan for my cube. Noise? Earbuds. Heck, I spent much of my undergrad years studying in the basement of the student union, across from the bookstore and right next to the arcade – if I can tune that out, I can tune anything out. (Why not the library, you ask? Because I couldn’t eat, drink, or smoke there. In the union, I was steps away from the vending machines, the bathroom, and a door outside so I could go smoke. I didn’t have to take breaks if I studied there.)

But it’s not a bad thing to adjust your environment to suit your needs. Especially in your own home. It’s been frigid in my office in the mornings, because we have to set the thermostat low to counter the extreme heat of the afternoons; the cooler it is in here in the morning, the cooler it stays all day. The down side is that I am in a closed room, with the vent pointed at my office chair. Which leads me to wear heavy sweaters and slippers in July.

Or, you know, I could just aim the vent away from my chair. There’s that.

Took me nearly 5 years to sort that one out.

A certain amount of adaptation is healthy, of course. Be the water is one of my goals. I am generally trying to go with the flow rather than stiff-arming my way through my days; life is just more pleasant when you aren’t constantly at war with everything. But accepting the ebb and flow of events is one thing – freezing your butt off rather than slide a lever 3/4 of an inch to the right is another. Life is also more pleasant when you’re not shivering and turning blue, and my adjustment of the vent bothers no one. I, on the other hand, spend a minimum of 8 hours a day in here. I should be comfortable.

I need to put more thought into things like this. Instead of simply accepting and adapting, I might be able to improve matters with one small change.

Leave a Reply

