Dancing babies

Anya and I have been slacking in the meditation department. After her t-ball game, during which she tripped and skinned her elbow and knee, she and I both had meltdowns at Sonic. It was blisteringly hot, we were tired and stressed, and she was hurt. It happens.

Despite the heat, we hugged it out. Hugs always help Anya tantrums. (They’re pretty good for Mommy tantrums, too.)  And I resolved to be better about enforcing our nightly meditation. We need a little calm in our lives.

Loving:

Anya has been dancing for us a lot lately. She’s always danced, but now she’s performing. And she’s got some pretty good moves.

Kai dances, too. And he loves to dance. Which makes me wonder whether he will still love to dance when he is older. It’s not typically cool for guys to love dancing; I hope his peers do not ruin dancing for him.

Reading:

My reading time has taken a hit recently, but I suspect I will have a little more free time in the coming weeks. Ove, here I come!

Watching:

All caught up on Bones. Just in time for season 4 of OITNB.

Listening to:

Exploring more new-to-me music on Spotify. And, reluctantly, more Kidz Bop. At least at this age, I have veto power over the really annoying songs – in 10 years, that will no longer be the case.

Working on:

Well, finding a new job, obvs. But also I’m working on maintaining my balance in this precarious time. Faced with adversity, I tend to lock down and enter penance mode. I don’t eat, I don’t sleep, I don’t relent – I pound away at my obstacles until I power through them. It’s a miserable way to live. I’m trying like hell not to do that this time around.

Anticipating:

The fireworks on the 4th. Anya loves the 4th. And I can’t wait to see what Kai thinks this year. I expected the noise to scare him last year, but he was unfazed. Perhaps this year he’ll even enjoy the show.

Making me happy:

I’ve applied for some interesting-looking gigs – not just lucrative, but intellectually stimulating. Hopefully I get at least one of them!

One thought on “Dancing babies

Leave a Reply

