What have I done for me lately?

Filling my own cup is about more than making sure I’m fed and rested. (Though that certainly helps!) It’s about nurturing and nourishing myself. Just as I do not stop at making sure my kids are fed and safe, nor should I consider those adequate minimums for myself. A spa weekend isn’t in the cards (and, truthfully, I wouldn’t enjoy myself at a spa anyway), so I’ve been finding small ways I can take care of myself.
  1. Once a week, check out Spotify’s Discover Weekly list. It’s a fast, painless way to find new favorites – no Top 40 required.
  2. Stop and savor. Pausing to appreciate my morning cup of tea, a new flavor of yogurt, and the fragrance of my parents’ magnolia tree improves my mood exponentially. I’ve known for a while that the best way to deal with feeling overwhelmed is to go outside and look up. Turns out that it doesn’t take much more to keep from feeling that way in the first place.
  3. Look for new adventures. I’ve learned more about the Memphis area since I gave birth to my daughter than I did in the 20 years prior. That’s ridiculous. Rather than sitting in my comfort zone, doing the same thing week after week, I should be out exploring. Finding new favorite places to go. Soaking up this part of the country while I am still here. People come from all over the world to visit this place, and I’ve barely seen it.
  4. Treat myself like I treat my children. Each day should involve good self-care (bathing, eating, exercising, resting), some learning, and some fun. And every day must include hugs and kisses. I don’t consider any of these things to be negotiable for my children, so neither can they be negotiable for me. After all, I am their mother – the center of their universe right now. If I don’t take care of myself, what message am I sending to them?
  5. Take time to do the things I love. Hobbies and interests are not just ways to fill idle hours; they fill the soul. I’ve struggled with finding time for reading since I gave birth, but I’ve come to realize that it’s something I should be making time for. If not now, when?

It’s so easy for me to put my needs aside for others. But I’m not doing anybody any favors when I do that.

Leave a Reply

