April showers bring…May

This weekend was an eventful one, what with planting our new apple tree and going to the (long anticipated, especially since I initially thought it was last weekend) rock show. Now it’s time to look ahead to May. May means Mother’s Day (which I have covered, for the most part), and my birthday.

Cake. May means cake. And this year, I am splurging on a Muddy’s cake, because you don’t turn 42 every year.

Loving:

Now that my son has fully cut four teeth, he is ready to take on solids. And he’s an adventurous eater, which makes him a joy to cook for. I’m soaking it up before he morphs into a picky eater like his sister.

Reading:

Still work, mostly. Also some instructions for craft project ideas on Pinterest (see below).

Watching:

Alton Brown is giving me some delicious ideas for dinner. Recipes are fine, but I can do much more with techniques.

Listening to:

Alternating between Breaking Benjamin and Ingram Hill, depending upon which child is complaining the most.

Working on:

Last week was a week of overtime and stress. And I realized that part of where my evenings fall apart is in the preparation of dinner. So I am trying to amass a collection of dinner ideas that can be at least partially prepared ahead. I made a double batch of quinoa veggie bites the other night and froze half for baking later on. And Alton Brown has a recipe for butternut squash dumplings that looks absolutely delicious.

Anticipating:

Anya and I are plotting some craft projects that will hopefully yield some things we can sell on Etsy. I told her that any money she makes from the sale of these items is hers. Because a lemonade stand would not make us much money in this neighborhood.

Making me happy:

When my daughter tells me I am her best friend. <3

Leave a Reply

