Revisiting my teen years

I’m very much feeling 15 again. Not in that angsty, gangly, boy-crazy way, of course – but lately there are definitely parallels.

I know I did not imagine the spotting yesterday; I have the stains to prove it happened. But after a few hours, it just…stopped. I’ve had cramps, but nothing more. For the life of me, I can’t think what it might be from. I tried Dr. Google, but all I got were hits to fertility/mommy forums, with their alphabet soup (I never bothered to learn all the acronyms, because yeesh), and their situations don’t exactly parallel mine. For instance, I am over 40, not on birth control, do not have an IUD, and know for a fact it’s not implantation bleeding.

The best I can figure is that this was a warning shot; my cycles may not be back up and running yet, but they’re thinking about it. So I’m back to the same place I was at 15: putting on a pad at the first sign of cramps, because you just never know.

My mouth is still extremely sore from Monday’s dental work. I ate soup and soggy cereal yesterday and the day before, and will likely eat soup and soggy cereal today. I’m having flashbacks to my orthodontia years – throw in some pimples and spandex, and it’s 1989 all over again.

My sinuses are clearing, but aren’t clear yet. And the forecast says I am not going to be clear for at least the rest of the week – levels are Very High through Saturday.

pollen.png
The trees are overachievers this year, it seems.

I think the sinus infection’s pretty well gone, though, so if I can just keep the congestion to a dull roar, I should be in good shape. Maybe I ought to give the neti pot a second chance. From what I’ve read, the issues I had with it were likely because the boyfriend who taught me to irrigate my sinuses was doing it wrong. The way he had me doing it spread what was a localized infection to the rest of my sinus cavities and my lungs. Thanks, dude.

Still…water up my nose. On purpose. I don’t know if I can do it.

Despite all that, I have the urge to go for a walk. I shall refrain, given those pollen levels, but perhaps in a day or so I will be up to doing some yoga. (I don’t think it’s a good idea to hang my head upside down just yet.) It’d be a good bonding exercise with Anya; she’s very lonely and bored as of late, and also a little attention hungry. (Just as Kai’s going through a clingy phase. Yay?)

Freelancing has picked up again, so I’m working longer days. Which means not much else is getting done. I guess staying the course isn’t such a bad thing. But I do wish the trees would knock it off so I can get outside and enjoy the weather before summer gets here.

Leave a Reply

