Battle plan reboot

Welcome, March! I know I missed the boat with February (I was busy burning the candle at both ends and in the middle), but I am ready for you.

First, it’s time to acknowledge that the old plan isn’t working. Counting steps…doing timed daily yoga practices…keeping a food diary on a site that tries to impose a 1500-calorie limit…these things just do not fit my life right now. And as such, including them in my goals just makes me feel bad about myself. Which inspires me to say f-it and eat an entire caramel chocolate bunny in one sitting.

On more than one occasion.

In the same week, even.

Did I mention February was a rough month?

But not March. I am going to make March work for me. I will do so by revising how I approach my goals. Not by tracking the specific accomplishments I want to achieve, but by listing the goals I am trying to bring about through these minutia.

With all that in mind, my goals are:

  • Be more active
  • Establish and maintain inner calm
  • Spend quality time with my family
  • Eat healthier
  • Stay on top of routine household chores
  • Take care of malingering to-do list items
  • Get my finances under control

Here’s what I am trying to achieve by doing these things:

  • Feel better
  • Have more fun
  • Get more done
  • Buy a house and a new car
  • Stop spending more than we earn
  • Create a nest egg

Eventually, of course. Not all at once. Not even all this year. (We are in no way prepared to buy a car this year, let alone a house!)

I don’t have my revised goal list together yet, but as I draft it, I am making sure it serves these lists. Once I’ve hammered out the details, I’ll post my list here, so you know what the heck I’m talking about when I start rambling about my March goals.

One thought on “Battle plan reboot

Leave a Reply

