The fun of…well, fun

One of my priorities this year is to have more fun. Not just to enjoy fun as it comes my way, but to plan fun. Schedule fun. Actively incorporate fun into my life. Because I am working on a lot of things right now, and I know how I get. I was the dummy that never (no, not once) went anywhere on spring break in college. And I have two degrees. On a beautiful spring day when I was in school, you might find me sitting on the steps studying, but not laying under a tree taking a break. As I move fully into the middle years of my life, I begin to feel that I wasted the first half. I certainly didn’t have enough fun, that’s for certain.

I’m going to do better from now on, though. Starting this month. It’s a leap year, so we get an extra day this month. I’ve always been attracted to leap years. I like the idea of this bonus day. I’ve always felt you should do something special with it. Not that I ordinarily do. But that’s going to change.

So I am taking the day off. And I will not do anything responsible that day. It’s a Monday, so R has to work, but the kids and I are going on an adventure. It’s spring, I’ve been working a lot of overtime, and we are long overdue for some adventure.

I consider this an important part of their education. I feel like it was just assumed that I would take time for fun, so nobody ever told me to. And because nobody ever told me to, I put my nose to the grindstone and left it there until it was completely flattened.

What the hell fun is that?

One thought on “The fun of…well, fun

Leave a Reply

