Art therapy

I need some creativity in my life.

I have several craftsy hobbies, but I also have a 2-year-old who wants to meddle (steal my stuff) every time I break out the supplies. So that’s out. I’ve not had a design job in close to a year, so that’s out, too. And I don’t have time (or a project, really) to design for me. So my creative outlet has been toddler-safe items like crayons and Play-Doh.

It helps, but it’s not enough. I edit science and medicine for 10 hours a day. I need ART, dammit.

So I signed up for a class. In what, I am not sure. It came up on my latest meetups email, and I said “Why not?” Something called Zentangles. I dunno. At this point, I’m willing to try almost anything.

Because I also need friends. I really, REALLY suck at making friends. I’m more awkward than Sheldon, highly introverted, slightly antisocial, and have roughly 90 seconds of free time per day. Even if I manage to hold a conversation, someone has to really work to get on my radar. But lately the only people I talk to without an internet connection are related to me. I’m not sure that’s healthy.

We’ll see how it goes.

2 thoughts on “Art therapy

  1. Just found your blog through Roo. Love your writing style!

    I took one of those uber-popular personality quizzes and came out as Amy Farrah Fowler, soooo … hello, soul mate? (totally kidding in case that didn't translate the way it did in my head).

    Really, though, I am like 90 percent introvert (according to another one of those quiz thingies … evidently I, too, need a hobby.) I've heard Zentangles are pretty cool.

    :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

